Road & Travel Magazine

Bookmark and Share

Adventure Travel
Advice & Tips
Airline Rules
Bed & Breakfasts
Cruises & Tours
Destination Reviews
Earth Tones
Family Travel Tips
Health Trip
Hotels & Resorts
Luxury Travel
Pet Travel
RV & Camping
Safety & Security
Spa Reviews
Train Vacations
Travel Directory
What Women Want

Automotive Channel

Auto Advice & Tips
Auto Buyer's Guides
Car Care Maintenance
Car of Year Awards
Earth Aware Awards
Insurance & Accidents
Legends & Leaders
New Car Reviews
Planet Driven
Road Humor
Road Trips
RV & Camping
Safety & Security
Teens & Tots Tips
Tire Buying Tips
Used Car Buying
Vehicle Model Guide
What Women Want

Follow Us
Facebook | Twitter

International Car of the Year Awards

International Car of the Year Awards
Welcomes Seven New Auto Editors to Jury

For Immediate Release

DETROIT, October 1, 2008 - The International Car of the Year Awards’ (ICOTY) board announced the addition of seven new members; bringing the panel to 17 auto editors and journalists from a variety of respected publications and broadcasts.

ICOTY is pleased to welcome the following new jury members:

  • Rich Homan, automotive editor for Autobytel’s flagship consumer website Homan’s extensive background includes executive editor of Road & Track and editor-in-chief for
  • Howard Walker, Speed TV Online Editor, is one of the world’s most-widely published auto journalists, and current U.S. editor for a number of international publications
  • John Rettie, internationally renowned automotive writer and photographer whose work has been featured in numerous publications including Road & Track Buyers Guide and New Car Test Drive
  • Rick Cotta, Managing Editor for Consumer Guide, has edited numerous car and motorcycle books, as well as contributing to Consumer Guide’s new-car evaluations
  • Kim Viano, editorial director for Yahoo! Autos. Viano was responsible for the launch of Yahoo! Auto Show series; she also manages weekly content packages for Yahoo!
  • Matthew De Paula, editor helped launched the website in 2005 and currently directs the sites’ editorial content
  • Jeff Voth, Yahoo! Autos Canada and Sun Media Editor whose auto and travel reviews are published weekly and are enjoyed by over 15 million readers in North America

These new members will join ICOTY’s other nationally-renowned automotive editors and journalists on the ICOTY jury; who include Denise McCluggage, columnist and senior-contributing editor, Auto Week; Kevin Smith, editorial director,; Bob Plunkett, syndicated automotive columnist; Ann Job, auto writer, Detroit Free Press; John McElroy, host of Autoline Detroit; Dan Wiese, auto editor, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Ken Gross, contributing editor, Robb Report; Perry Stern, editor MSN Autos; BJ Killeen, Driver’s Talk Radio; and Courtney Caldwell, editor-in-chief, Road & Travel Magazine (RTM). J.D. Power and Associates will tabulate final ballots.

About the International Car of the Year Awards
The ICOTY Awards were founded in 1996 by Courtney Caldwell, editor-in-chief of RTM. Coined the “Academy Awards of Cars,” ICOTY has become the largest auto awards show production in the United States. In addition to the International Car and Truck of the Year Awards, ICOTY will also honor Warren Brown, auto writer for the Washington Post, with its sixth annual Lifetime Achievement Award.  For more info, visit

Media Contact:
ph: 248.561.5660 EST

Copyright ©1989 - 2022 | ROAD & TRAVEL Magazine | All rights reserved.