Road & Travel Magazine - Adventure Travel  Channel

Travel Channel

Adventure Travel
Advice & Tips
Airline Rules
Bed & Breakfasts
Climate Views & Videos
Cruises & Tours
Destination Reviews
Earth Tones
Family Travel Tips
Health Trip
Hotels & Resorts
Luxury Travel
Pet Travel
RV & Camping
Safety & Security
Spa Reviews
Train Vacations
World Travel Directory

Automotive Channel
Auto Advice & Tips
Auto Buyer's Guides
Car Care Maintenance
Climate News & Views
Auto Awards Archive
Insurance & Accidents
Legends & Leaders
New Car Reviews
Planet Driven
Road Humor
Road Trips
RV & Camping
Safety & Security
Teens & Tots Tips
Tire Buying Tips
Used Car Buying
Vehicle Model Guide

Bookmark and Share



Scientists have been warning us for years about the dangers of global warming and its effects on the planet. That concern is now imminent, compelling companies worldwide to take massive action to reduce carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. 

In response to the acceleration and urgency of global warming and climate change, automakers are taking swift action by reducing their energy consumption through the use of earth-friendly power supplies, thereby producing more fuel efficient vehicles and upgrading to cleaner power sources such as hybrids, electric, flex-fuel and ethanol.

To honor the progress automakers have made in the environmental arena, The EARTH, WIND & POWER AWARDS (EWP) jury is proud to announce its winner for Most Environmentally Progressive Car and Truck of the Year.

2010 Earth, Wind & Power Car of the Year
Ford Fusion Hybrid

Audi Q7 TDI Clean Diesel
Lexus RX450h Hybrid

The mission of the EWP awards is to recognize vehicles that contribute to the reduction of global warming, are conducive to promoting a cleaner environment, and help reduce dependence on foreign oil through alternative energy sources.

“With climate change and dependence on foreign oil a major concern, more people than ever are turning to fuel-efficient or alternative fuel vehicles,” said Courtney Caldwell, EWP’s creator and executive producer. “It’s become of vital interest to consumers, automakers, and the future of our planet to produce vehicles that are compatible with our planet.”

The 2nd Annual EWP Awards’ reveals will be moved from Detroit to Los Angeles on December 1st 2009, the eve of press week for the Los Angeles Auto show. Sponsored by Bridgestone, the VIP & Media Reception and press conference will take place at the Los Angeles Marriott Downtown. There, media and industry echelon will to unveil the most environmentally progressive car and truck of the year. Kevin Smith, Editorial Director,; and Courtney Caldwell, Editor, Road & Travel Magazine and event producer; will MC the Los Angeles debut.

Nominations were approved by the EWP nomination committee to ensure that vehicles met EWP’s Award criteria. The mission of this five-member committee was to establish vehicle eligibility standards, which the entire jury used as a guideline when voting. Members of the committee include Kevin Smith, editorial director,; James Bell, executive market analyst for Kelley Blue Book; Rick Cotta, editor, Consumer Guide Automotive; Perry Stern, editor, MSN Autos; and Howard Walker, auto journalist, Palm Beach Illustrated.
The EWP jury combines nineteen nationally-renowned automo- tive editors and journalists into one expert arena. Denise McCluggage, senior contributing editor, Auto Week; Kevin Smith, editorial director,; Steve Siler, west coast bureau chief,; James Bell, executive marketing analyst, Kelley Blue Book; Joe Weisenfelder, senior editor and lead reviewer,; Rick Cotta, editor, Consumer Guide Automotive; Perry Stern, editor, MSN Autos; Howard Walker, automotive journalist, Palm Beach Illustrated; Seth Fletcher, associate editor, Popular Science; Ken Gross, contributing editor, Playboy; Dan Wiese, auto editor, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Ann Job, automotive test driver, Associated Press; John Rettie, auto contributor,; Bob Plunkett, editor-in-chief, New Car News Syndicate; Kim Viano, lead auto editor, Yahoo! Autos; Greg Whale, automotive contributor for New Car Test Drive, Truck Trend; BJ Killeen, editor-at-large, Driver Talk Radio; Jeff Voth, auto writer, Sun Media and Yahoo! Canada Autos; and Courtney Caldwell, editor-in-chief, Earth, Wind & Power Media and Road & Travel Magazine.

See the 2009 EWP Award winners.